MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING April 21, 2025 6:30 P.M.

The Grand Saline ISD Board of Trustees met in a regular meeting this date. President Micah Lowe called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. stating that a quorum was present and the meeting had been duly called and posted in the time and manner required by law.

Board members present included: President Micah Lowe, Vice-President Bear Brown, Secretary Kyle Thompson, Matt Strickland, Dustin Mason, Nick Haley, and Michael Martin.

Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance lead by Micah Lewis

No Public Comments

Recognition: Recipients of the Indian Award for April 2025 were Tucker Conatser from the Elementary School, Emma Good from the Intermediate School, Tatum Harrell from the Middle School. Emma Currey and Jamie Kate Castleberry from the High School. What a Teachers of the month, Abigail Vazquez and Katie Gilbreath from the Intermediate School.

Reports: (1) Finance by Laura Griffith; (2) Technology by Lance Caffey; (3)
Maintenance/Facilities Report by Ryan Simmons; (4) Athletic Report by Joe Drennon; (5)
Principal Report by Lori Hooton (ES), Tina Core (IS), Amy Moffatt (MS), Alex Paredes (HS);
(6) School Health Advisor Report by Ricky LaPrade; (7) Superintendent Report by Micah Lewis; (8) Board Member Report CTE by Matt Strickland

Consent agenda items: (1) Minutes of the March 10, 2025 Regular Board Meeting ;(2) Minutes of the April 2, 2025 Special Called Meeting, (3) the Financial report for March 2025; (4) Tyler Junior College MOU for 2025-2026 Dual Credit Program. A motion was made by Bear Brown and seconded by Kyle Thompson to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Nick Haley and seconded by Matt Strickland to approve the ERATE as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Nick Haley and seconded by Michael Martin to approve the 2024-2025 Budget Amendments as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Bear Brown and seconded by Dustin Mason to approve the Resolution Extending Depository Contract as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

Matt Strickland made a motion and seconded by Kyle Thompson to approve the 2025-2026 Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification as presented. The motion carried 7:0

A motion was made by Nick Haley and seconded by Kyle Thompson to approve the Resolution for Employee Compensation during Emergency Weather Closure. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Dustin Mason and seconded by Michael Martin to approve the 2025-2026 Application for Staff Development Minutes Waiver as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

Nick Haley made a motion and seconded by Dustin Mason to approve the 2025-2026 and 2026-2027 Application for Modified Schedule State Assessment as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Dustin Mason and seconded by Bear Brown to approve the Accelerate Learning (STEMscope) as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

Nick Haley made a motion and seconded by Dustin Mason to approve auditors Rutherford and Taylor for the 2024-2025 school year. The motion carried 7:0.

President Micah Lowe reported for each board member the required Continuing Education Hours as follows: Micah Lowe -efficient, Bear Brown – efficient, Matt Strickland- efficient, Dustin Mason – efficient, Kyle Thompson – efficient, Michael Martin – efficient, and Nick Haley - efficient.

Contract with Jackson Construction was tabled for further information from Jackson Construction.

The board adjourned into executive session April 21, 2025, at 8:14 p.m.

Nick Haley left the meeting at 9:00 p.m.

The board reconvened into open session April 21, 2025, at 9:26 p.m.

A motion was made by Matt Strickland to approve new hires as presented by Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Kyle Thompson and carried 6:0.

With no further business President Micah Lowe declared the meeting adjourned April 21, 2025, at 9:27 p.m.

Micah Lowe, President

Kyle Thompson, Secretary