## MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING January 22, 2024 6:30 P.M.

The Grand Saline ISD Board of Trustees met in a regular meeting this date. President Micah Lowe called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. stating that a quorum was present and the meeting had been duly called and posted in the time and manner required by law.

Board members present included: Vice-President Bear Brown, Secretary Kyle Thompson, Matt Strickland, Dustin Mason, Nick Haley, and Michael Martin with President Micah Lowe joining the meeting at 7:40 p.m.

There were no comments from the public.

Recognition: Superintendent Micah Lewis extended appreciation to school board members for their dedicated leadership in public education and service to the children of Grand Saline ISD. Recipients of the Indian Award for January 2024 were Laynie Glidewell from the Elementary School, Ricardo Lopez from the Intermediate School, Adelaide Gowins from the Middle School, Jacob Moses from the High School, and Whatastaff of the month was Toby Palma and Juan Palma – Grounds Department. Middle School Principal Michael Mize recognized teacher Susan Lewis for receiving the VFW Teacher of the Year local and district level, Susan Lewis recognized Middle School students 1<sup>ST</sup> place Paisley Phillips (local and district), Birdie Mckee 3<sup>rd</sup> place local and 2<sup>nd</sup> place in District for the VFW Patriots Pen Essays.

Reports: (1) Finance by Laura Griffith; (2) Technology Report by Lance Caffey (3) Maintenance/Facilities Report by Ryan Simmons; (4) Athletic Report by Joe Drennon; (5) Superintendent's Report by Micah Lewis; (6) Board Member Report by Matt Strickland.

Consent agenda items: (1) Minutes of the December 18, 2023 Regular Board Meeting; (2) the Financial report for December 2023; (3) Order Trustee Election for May 4, 2024. A motion was made by Kyle Thompson and seconded by Matt Strickland to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried 6:0.

GSISD Investment Policy was reviewed with no changes to either policies or strategies.

The second reading was held for Policy Update 122. A motion was made by Dustin Mason and seconded by Kyle Thompson to add (LOCAL) policies as recommended by TASB Policy Services and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 122. The motion carried 6:0. The update policies approved are as follows:

CQB (LOCAL): TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES CYBERSECURITY

CSA (LOCAL): FACILITY STANDARDS SAFETY AND SECURITY

DC (LOCAL): EMPLOYMENT PRACTICES

EHB (LOCAL): CURRICULUM DESIGN SPECIAL PROGRAMS

EHBC (LOCAL): SPECIAL PROGRAMS COMPENSATORY SERVICES AND INTENSIVE PROGRAMS

EHBCA (LOCAL): COMPENSATORY SERVICES AND INTENSIVE PROGRAMS ACCELERATED INSTRUCTION

FEA (LOCAL): ATTENDANCE COMPLULSORY ATTENDANCE

FFAC (LOCAL): WELLNESS AND HEALTH SERVICES MEDICAL TREATMENT

FFB (LOCAL); STUDENT WELFARE CRISIS INTERVENTION

FL (LOCAL): STUDENT RECORDS

A motion was made by Nick Haley and seconded by Michael Martin to approve the	2023-2024
Application for Other Waiver. The motion carried 6:0.	

The board adjourned into executive session January 22, 2024, at 7:39 p.m.

The board reconvened into open session January 23, 2024, 12:33 a.m.

A motion was made by Matt Strickland to approve the superintendent's contract one-year extension with a 3 percent raise effective July 1, 2024. The motion was seconded by Nick Haley and carried 7:0

With no further business Vice-President Bear Brown declared the meeting adjourned January 23, 2024, at 12:33 a.m.

Micah Lowe, President	Kyle Thompson, Secretary