MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING May 15, 2023 6:30 P.M.

The Grand Saline ISD Board of Trustees met in a regular meeting this date. President Micah Lowe called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. stating that a quorum was present and the meeting had been duly called and posted in the time and manner required by law.

Board members present included: President Micah Lowe, Vice-President Bear Brown, Secretary Kyle Thompson, Matt Strickland, Nick Haley, and Dustin Mason.

There were no comments from the public.

Recognition: Recipients of the Indian Award for May 2023 were Avery Phillips from the Elementary School, Luke Mayne from the Intermediate School, and Leyna Cevallos from the High School.

Reports: (1) Finance by Laura Griffith; (2) Maintenance/Facilities Report by Ryan Simmons; (3) Technology Report by Lance Caffey; (4) Athletic Report by Micah Lewis; (5) School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) by Ricky LaPrade; (6) 2022-2023 Comprehensive Needs Assessment Survey Summaries by Ricky LaPrade; (7) Superintendent's Report by Micah Lewis.

The Statement of Officer was signed by newly elected board member Michael Spivey-Martin and incumbents Matt Strickland and Phillip "Bear" Brown. The Oath of Office was administered by Notary Public Cindy Gibson.

Reorganization of the Board began with President Micah Lowe surrendering his responsibilities to Vice- President Bear Brown. Bear Brown opened the nominations for President. Kyle Thompson nominated Micah Lowe for Board President. Vice-President Bear Brown moved that nominations be closed followed by a second from Nick Haley. Micah Lowe was elected President with a vote of 6 to 0 with Micah Lowe abstaining from voting. Micah Lowe resumed the meeting as President.

Dustin Mason nominated Bear Brown for Vice President. President Micah Lowe closed nominations which was seconded by Nick Haley. Bear Brown abstained from voting and was elected Vice President by a vote of 6 to 0.

Nick Haley nominated Kyle Thompson for Secretary. President Micah Lowe closed nominations which was seconded by Bear Brown. Kyle Thompson abstained from voting and was elected Secretary by a vote of 6 to 0.

There was no action taken on updating the bank signature card.

Consent agenda items: (1) Minutes of the April 17, 2023 Regular Board Meeting, (2) the Financial report for April 2023. A motion was made by Kyle Thompson and seconded by Bear Brown to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Matt Strickland and seconded by Nick Haley to approve the 2023 Instructional Materials Committee Recommendations. The motion carried 7:0.

Dustin Mason made a motion and seconded by Kyle Thompson to approve the 2023-2024 Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Nick Haley and seconded by Dustin Mason to approve the 2023-2024 Application for Staff Development Minutes Waiver as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Bear Brown and seconded by Matt Strickland to approve the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 Application for Modified Schedule State Assessment Testing Days Waiver. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Nick Haley and seconded by Bear Brown to approve up to \$30,000.00 for the purchase of additional IPads. The motion carried 7:0.

Kyle Thompson made a motion and seconded by Nick Haley to approve the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 Austin Bank Depository Contract Bid as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

Discussed the GSISD Local Salary Scale with no action taken

Discussed the GSISD Non-Contract Local Salary Scale with no action taken

A motion was made by Dustin Mason and seconded by Kyle Thompson to give the Superintendent authorization to hire professional personnel through September 2023. The motion carried 7:0.

The board adjourned into executive session May 15, 2023, at 8:00 p.m.

The board reconvened into open session May 15, 2023, at 9:26 p.m.

A motion was made by Matt Strickland and seconded by Bear Brown to approve staff and faculty raises as presented. The motion carried 7:0

With no further business President Micah Lowe declared the meeting adjourned May 15, 2023, at 9:26 p.m.

Micah Lowe, President	Kyle Thompson, Secretary