MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING May 15, 2017 6:30 P.M.

The Grand Saline ISD Board of Trustees met in a regular meeting this date. President Rodney Easley called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. stating that a quorum was present and the meeting had been duly called and posted in the time and manner required by law.

Board members present included President Rodney Easley, Vice President Matt Strickland, Secretary Micah Lowe, Jeremiah Carnes, Paul Moreno, Loyd Nations, and Eddie Paul Stanley.

The invocation was led by Loyd Nations followed by the pledge of allegiance.

There were no comments from the public.

Recognition: Recipients of the Indian Award for May 2017, were Emma Burns for the Elementary School, Emilie Butterfield for the Intermediate School, Amanda LaPrade for the Middle School, and Katie Davis for the High School. Mr. Paul Mattis the debate and speech team sponsor along with the debate team were also recognized for their many achievements.

Reports included: (1) Financial by Laura Griffith, (2) Maintenance and Facilities by Pat O'Donnell, (3) School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) by Debby Morse, (5) TELPAS Annual Report by Debby Morse, and (6) Superintendent's Report by Micah Lewis.

The Statement of Officer was signed by new board member Phillip "Bear" Brown and incumbent Matt Strickland. The Oath of Office was administered by Notary Public Kathy Thomason.

Reorganization of the Board began with Matt Strickland nominating Rodney Easley for Board President. President Easley surrendered his responsibilities to Vice President Strickland. Eddie Paul Stanley moved that nominations be closed followed by a second from Paul Moreno. Easley abstained from voting and was reelected President with a vote of 6 to 0. Rodney Easley resumed his presidential responsibilities.

Eddie Paul Stanley nominated Matt Strickland for Vice President for 2017-18. Jeremiah Carnes made a motion that nominations cease which was seconded by Paul Moreno. Strickland abstained from the vote and was reelected Vice President by a vote of 6 to 0.

Eddie Paul Stanley nominated Micah Lowe for Secretary for 2017-18. Jeremiah Carnes moved that nominations be closed and Matt Strickland seconded. Lowe abstained from voting and was reelected Secretary by a vote of 6 to 0.

Consent agenda items included: (1) Minutes of the April 17, 2017, regular board meeting, and (2) Financial report for April 2017. A motion was made by Matt Strickland and seconded by Eddie Paul Stanley to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried 7 to 0.

A motion was made by Bear Brown and seconded by Matt Strickland to approve summer school plans as presented. Motion carried 7 to 0.

A motion was made by Jeremiah Carnes to approve authorization for the Van Zandt County Appraisal District to reappraise property damaged by the tornadoes. The motion was seconded by Eddie Paul Stanley and carried 7 to 0.

A motion was made by Matt Strickland and seconded by Paul Moreno to give Superintendent Micah Lewis authority to hire professional personnel throughout August 2017. The motion carried 7 to 0.

The board adjourned into executive session May 15, 2017, at 7:58 p.m.

The board entered back into open session May 15, 2017, at 9:23 p.m.

A motion was made by Bear Brown to accept the resignations of Kristi Tapper, Shane McBride, Candi Haisten, and Jennifer Cook. The motion was seconded by Matt Strickland and carried 7 to 0.

A motion was made by Eddie Paul Stanley to hire Kelli Cassell, Ron Howard, Cindy LaPrade, and Britni Smith. The motion was seconded by Jeremiah Carnes and carried 7 to 0.

Based on the Superintendent's recommendation and since a request for a hearing was not received from Mr. Brad Swain within the appropriate timeline, Jeremiah Carnes made a motion that the term contract of Brad Swain not be renewed and that the Board President give Mr. Swain notification of the Board's action in writing in accordance with Board policy and state law. The motion was seconded by Paul Moreno and carried 6 to 0 with Rodney Easley abstaining from the vote.

With no further business a motion was made by Matt Strickland to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Eddie Paul Stanley and carried 7 to 0. Rodney Easley declared the meeting adjourned May 15, 2017, at 9:27 p.m.

Rodney Easley, President	Micah Lowe, Secretary