## MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING May 16, 2022 6:30 P.M.

The Grand Saline ISD Board of Trustees met in a regular meeting this date. President Micah Lowe called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. stating that a quorum was present and the meeting had been duly called and posted in the time and manner required by law.

Board members present included: President Micah Lowe, Vice-President Bear Brown, Secretary Casey Jordan, Matt Strickland, Dustin Mason, Kyle Thompson.

The invocation was led by Micah Lewis followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no comments from the public.

Recognition: Recipients of the Indian Award for May 2022 were Victoria Olivares from the High School, Rynlee Melton from the Middle School, Ada Collett from the Intermediate School, and Jax Coffman from the Elementary School. Ricky LaPrade and Police Chief Jeremey Barker recognized our Fire Program and a couple the students Jase Melton and Michael Gatlin. Micah Lewis recognized the 14 Seniors who recently graduated from TJC with their Associates Degree.

President Micah Lowe opened a public hearing for discussion on the Intent to Apply for Federal Grant Funds was opened at 6:47 p.m. There were no questions from the public. The hearing was closed at 6:49 p.m.

Reports: (1) Finance by Laura Griffith; (2) Maintenance/Facilities Report by Micah Lewis; (3) Athletic Report by Micah Lewis; (4) School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) by Micah Lewis; (5) 2021-2022 Comprehensive Needs Assessment Survey Summaries by Micah Lewis; (6) ESSER III – Review Use of Funds by Micah Lewis (7) Superintendent's Report (COVID -19 update and Safety Meeting) by Micah Lewis.

Consent agenda items: (1) Minutes of the April 18, 2022 Regular Board Meeting, (2) the Financial report for April 2022. (3) Update Bank Signature Cards. A motion was made by Kyle Thompson and seconded by Casey Jordan to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried 6:0.

Following the canvassing of the school board trustee election, a motion was made by Bear Brown and seconded by Kyle Thompson to approve the results of the May 7, 2022 election as declared by the summary of returns. Votes were distributed as follows: Dean Phillips -154 votes, Nick Haley -254 votes, and Casey Jordan -251. The motion carried 6:0.

The Statement of Officer was signed by newly elected board members Nick Haley and Casey Jordan. The Oath of Office was administered by Notary Public Cindy Gibson.

Reorganization of the Board began with President Micah Lowe surrendering his responsibilities to Vice- President Bear Brown. Bear Brown opened the nominations for President. Casey Jordan nominated Micah Lowe for Board President. Vice-President Bear Brown moved that nominations be closed followed by a second from Dustin Mason. Micah Lowe was elected President with a vote of 6 to 0 with Micah Lowe abstaining from voting. Micah Lowe resumed the meeting as President.

Kyle Thompson nominated Bear Brown for Vice President. President Micah Lowe closed nominations which was seconded by Matt Strickland. Bear Brown abstained from voting and was elected Vice President by a vote of 6 to 0.

Dustin Mason nominated Kyle Thompson for Secretary. President Micah Lowe closed nominations which was seconded by Bear Brown. Kyle Thompson abstained from voting and was elected Secretary by a vote of 7 to 0.

A motion was made by Casey Jordan and seconded by Matt Strickland to approve the budget amendments as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

Bear Brown made a motion to approve the Maintenance Tax Note Payoff amount of \$327,001.55, seconded by Bear Brown. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Casey Jordan and seconded by Dustin Mason to approve \$25,000.00 to spend on school supplies as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

Kyle Thompson made a motion and seconded by Matt Strickland to approve auditors Rutherford and Taylor for the 2021-2022 school year. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Matt Strickland and seconded by Kyle Thompson to give Superintendent Micah Lewis authority to hire professional personnel throughout September 2022. The motion carried 7:0.

The board adjourned into executive session May 16, 2022, at 8:13 p.m.

The board reconvened into open session May 16, 2022, at 10:37 p.m.

A motion was made by Dustin Mason and seconded by Kyle Thompson to accept the GSISD Local Salary Scale as presented by the Superintendent. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Casey Jordan and seconded by Bear Brown to accept the Non-Contract GSISD Local Salary Scale as presented by the Superintendent. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Casey Jordan and seconded by Bear Brown to accept the Administration Salary Scale as presented by the Superintendent. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Matt Strickland and seconded by Bear Brown to accept the Superintendent Contract raise of 3% as presented. The motion carried 7:0.

A motion was made by Nick Haley and seconded by Casey Jordan to accept resignations and new hires as presented by the Superintendent. The motion carried 7:0.

With no further business President Micah Lowe declared the meeting adjourned May 16, 2022, at 10:40 p.m.

| Micah Lowe, President | Kyle Thompson, Secretary |
|-----------------------|--------------------------|